INDMoney Android SDE Intern interview experience.

Kapil
3 min readSep 26, 2022

Holla amigos šŸ–šŸ¼, so we are going to gossip about my Interview experience about INDMoneyā€™s off campus opportunity, letā€™s start.

So, firstly, Iā€™m a great believer of development not just eating DSA cheat sheetā€™s, and Iā€™m giving more to android from 1t year.

One day, my brother Ayush Verma send me a LinkedIn post of INDMoneyā€™s CTO and there was an opening for Native Android development with a taste of hybrid also, so I applied it there and also pinged CTO sir, and surprisingly he also replied to my message.

After two days, HR maā€™am called me and told me about each anr every process for interview.

That includes :-

a) Round 1

This round was majorly focused to android knowledge and the sir was very cool. I was amazed to see the level of questions he asked me like more deep into the core concepts like Internal working of view models, lifecycle of view models etc. That was a good discussion round, and the interviewer was also cool, he helped me where I got stucked to explain.

Result Went well

a) Round 2

This round was majorly focused to mix of everything from App dev to UI/UX knowledge to DSA ( Problem-solving skills not Leetcode or any cheatsheet ).

The first few questions were related to Android generic and stuff.
Secondly, there was one UI which the interviewer showed to me and asked how would I approach this type of UI in android and the edge cases which Iā€™ll keep in my mind while doing so.
Then lastly one DSA question, that was like ā€œ You are given X and two sorted arrays A and B and you need to choose a from A and b from B such that X-| A + B | is minium and after listening minium I was like -_- but still I started from brute force and got to know the pattern and make sure to understand my though process to sir, and he was so helpful that he helped my where I stuck with the approaches.
And finally, I cracked the logic for the question and then sir gave me a takeaway task related to android to judge my coding style and pattern.

Result Went well

a) Round 3

This round was the final talk with the CTO.

The first few questions were related Kotlin specific where he asked some standard Kotlin questions like Is String ImMutable or notĀ ?

Then he gave me an instant assignment based upon the problem of coloring border and both diagonals of nxn odd grids, and it was more like machine coding round where I was given constraints and time slab was for 30 mins and to be honest it was a hell lot of task if we do it in XML way, but thankfully I was shifted to compose, and it was straight forward.

My Approach.

  1. I made a grid composable which takes the color as deciding parameter and white was the default one.
  2. Then I used LazyColumn and LazyRow with N items and then used two local variables i and j to define our logic.
  3. Logic was,
    if ( i == 0 || i == N-1 || j == 0 || j == N-1) Grid( color = pink )
    else if ( i == j ) Grid ( color = pink )
    else if (i + j == size) Grid ( color = pink )
    else Grid ()

Result Went well

Then after 2, 3 hours, HR maā€™am called and said ā€œYOUā€™RE SELECTEDā€

Yeahhhhhhhh

Final Advice for you Peeps

So, My Hacks for successful interviewsĀ are.

  1. Interview is about judging you on thought process not memorizing the problems.
  2. While solving any problem, make sure you talk to yourself orally ā˜ ļø and cross questions yourself and also spell it clearly so that the interviewer can understand how you are approaching the problem.
    e.g. If you are given xyz then Spell like this,
    Okay, If I take xyz as pqr and if not what will happen, and it will make abc affect.
    Like this way you question yourself and conclude your self which makes an impression, you are better thinker just not memorizing the question.
  3. Always verify the question again in your understanding and ask about the edge cases.

Thatā€™s it. See you soon šŸ–šŸ¼.

--

--